Planck Charges To Cornwall Glory


CORNWALL, Ontario — A new driver visited the winners circle in round number five of the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series at Cornwall Motor Speedway as Dale Planck charged ahead of the competition to victory.

Matt Billings and Kyle Dingwall were on the front row on the initial green and Dingwall became the early leader. The new Brockville track champion led the first 14 laps as Billings took a restart opportunity to grab the first position, Planck jumping to second and aiming for the lead as leaders approached heavy traffic. Planck used these conditions to take the lead on lap 26.

While Planck was building momentum, Danny O’Brien and Carey Terrance made their way to the front, both breaking the top five just before the halfway point. O’Brien moved up to second on lap 58 using the top side and got closer to Planck as the feature got closer to the lap 75 mandatory pit stop caution.

Francois Bernier brought the caution on lap 65 and Danny O’Brien used the restart to pass Planck for the lead. As the feature quickly reached the competition pit stop, the cars stopped in the front stretch for a fast 10-minute break.

This pit stop was good for Planck as he was rapid on the inside and regained the lead over O’Brien on lap 80. Matt Williamson was making his way up to the front after starting 17th on the grid. Williamson jumped to fourth with a dozen laps to go and then surprised Terrance with only four laps to go for third spot.

Planck led the final portion of the 125-lap feature to capture his first DIRTcar 358-Modified Series race of 2012 and grabs the lead in the feature. O’Brien, Williamson, Terrance and Raabe rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Dale Planck, Danny O’Brien, Mat Williamson, Carey Terrance, Chris Raabe, Erick Rudolph, Steve Bernard, Luke Whitteker, Laurent Ladouceur, Matt Billings, Joel Doiron, Jeremy Wilder, Pierre Dagenais, Alain Boisvert, Dany Bilodeau, Claude Brouillard, Stephane Lafrance, Roy Tarbell, Tommy Flannigan, Bobby Herrington, Sebastien Gougeon, Kyle Dingwall, Mario Clair, Francois Bernier, Yan Bussiere, Brian McDonald, Mike Bowman, Kayle Robidoux, Brandon Sweet, David Hebert.