Payne Powers To USMTS Score


LIBERAL, Kan. — Jeremy Payne continued his dominance in the Arbor Masters Central Region presented by Day Motor Sports Friday night at the Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway with his fourth win in nine starts as the USMTS Casey’s Cup Series paid their first visit to the three-eighths-mile D-shaped clay oval.

A runner-up finish in Beyea Custom Headers Heat Race No. 1 earned the 27-year-old from Springfield, Mo., a spot in the redraw where he picked the pole for the 40-lap main event.

From there, he led every lap to secure his 15th career USMTS victory and his second $4,000 paycheck in as many nights.

Dereck Ramirez ran in the runner-up spot from start to finish, but was unable to challenge Payne for the lead and crossed the finish line 4.449 seconds behind the winner.

Zack VanderBeek came from 11 on the 24-car starting grid to finish third and garnered his third Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award of the 2013 campaign.

Rodney Sanders started and finished fourth while Johnny Scott netted the fifth spot.

The finish:

Jeremy Payne, Dereck Ramirez, Zack VanderBeek, Rodney Sanders, Johnny Scott, Jason Hughes, Kelly Shryock, Thomas Tillison Jr., George White, Trevor Hunt, Austin Siebert, Joey Galloway, Cole Traugott, Van Gemmill, Cody Gearhart, Bobby Mayfield, Jimmy Ray, Rick Beebe, Kip Hughes, Chris Theodore, Daniel Hilsabeck, Cade Dillard, Stormy Scott, Bryan Rowland.