Williams Is The King Of Thunderhill

Brandon Williams was the winner of Saturday's Thunder on the Hill 60 at Thunderhill Speedway. (MRM Racing Photo)
Brandon Williams was the winner of Saturday's Thunder on the Hill 60 at Thunderhill Raceway. (MRM Racing Photo)

SUMMERTOWN, Tenn. – Brandon Williams was able to guide his car through lapped traffic, keep all challengers behind him and become the King of the Hill Saturday night during the Newsome Raceway Parts Crate Racin’ USA Dirt Late Model Series King of the Hill 60 at Thunderhill Raceway.

Driving the Jeff Woods Construction Special, Williams took the lead from pole sitter Corey Dunn on lap two, and lead the rest of the way for the $7,500 victory. Williams held off Michael Page and Christian Hanger.

“We got here Thursday for practice and it was the first time I’d ever seen the place,” Williams said. “We took some good notes, and everything just worked our way last night and tonight. I knew Page and Hanger were right on my tail in lapped traffic, so I knew on the restarts, I only had a few laps until I caught the lapped cars. I raced as hard as I could until I caught the lapped cars and had a little breathing room to get around them. My can handled well enough that I could go to the outside to get through the traffic.”

Page finished second in the Troy Beard Racing Special and Hanger took the third spot in the Hanger Racing Special. Wil Herrington was fourth in the 5m Construction Rocket. Herrington made a bold move on lap 50 to move up from sixth the fourth, and that finish put Herrington into a tie for the Newsome Raceway Parts Dirt Late Model Series point lead with Cruz Skinner, each with 722 points.

Jake Rainey took the fifth spot in the Harrod Logging Special.

The finish:

Brandon Williams, Michael Page, Christian Hanger, Wil Herrington, Jake Rainey, Oakley Johns, Tyler Wood, Brad Skinner, Eric Hickerson, Tim Busha, Evan Ellis, Cruz Skinner, Josh Putnam, T.J. Brittain, David Seibers, Cody Martin, Marcus Minga, Trynt Lloyd, Scott Spurgeon, Jody Knowles, Steven Holcomb, Troy Dixon, Corey Dunn, Donald Johns, Justin Maxwell, Brock Hall.