Wall Stops NDRL Invaders In Mississippi


COLUMBUS, Miss. – Chris Wall has long been one of the toughest guys to ever make laps around Magnolia Motor Speedway. Wall has recorded multiple special event wins at Johnny Stokes’ three-eighths-mile oval.

On Friday night Wall added another to his list of big wins at the track located just outside Columbus. Wall moved by race leader Billy Moyer Jr. before halfway and then mowed down backmarker traffic to capture night one of the National Dirt Racing League King of Mississippi, worth $7,500.

“Man this is special to me,” Wall said in victory lane. “The best drivers in the country are right here tonight and to outrun Scott Bloomquist, Billy Moyer, Don O’Neal and all these other guys is just an awesome feeling. I take a lot of pride in this one.”

Wall started third and methodically worked his way past second-place Billy Moyer and gave chase to leader Billy Moyer Jr. Moyer Jr. kept his Longhorn Chassis machine at the point rolling up around the very top of the speedway, while Wall was making up the distance to the leader running right around the bottom of the track. Lap after lap Wall was able to close in on Moyer.

By lap 10 Wall was all over Moyer and just one lap later Wall swept underneath Moyer to grab the lead. It was a lead he would never relinquish.

Once in the lead Wall was masterful, hugging the inside berm and picking off lap traffic one by one. Behind the leaders, fourth tarter Don O’Neal began to mount a charge to the front. O’Neal slipped back in the early laps but found a groove through the black-slick middle to his liking. When O’Neal reached 2nd his was able to close up the gap to Wall.

However Wall was able to move through the traffic much better and opened the distance back up. When the checkered flag fell Wall crossed the line with a 12 car length advantage to take the win. O’Neal followed in second and Steve Francis moved up from his seventh starting spot to take third. Moyer Jr. and Chris Brown completed the top five.

The finish:

Chris Wall, Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Billy Moyer Jr., Chris Brown, Jonathan Davenport, Billy Moyer, John Blankenship, Scott Bloomquist, Chad Thrash, Bub McCool, Kent Robinson, Jared Landers, Tim Fuller, Jeremy Payne, Chris Madden, Chris Ferguson, Timothy Culp, Robert Baker, Max Blair, Mason Zeigler, Anthony Burroughs, Rick Rickman, Jimmy Cliburn, William Thomas, Wendell Wallace.