Vaught Dominates Lakeside MLRA Go


KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Saturday night in Lucas Oil MLRA action at Lakeside Speedway it was all Will Vaught.

He started at the back of his heat race and won. This put him on the pole where he checked out and led every lap, to score his second Lucas Oil MLRA late model win of the season.

“Starting up front at a place like this means a lot,” said Vaught. “Our car was perfect. I’m happy for Warrior (Race Cars).”

Vaught got caught up in an accident during his heat. With severe nose damage he was able to regroup during intermission.

“I really thought our night was ended,” said Vaught. Luckily for the team, the damage was isolated to the body and not any of the suspension or steering components.

Brad Looney worked up to the runner-up spot early in the race and held off charges form both Kyle Berck and Chris Simpson. Looney was able to narrow the gap between he and Vaught at times, but never challenged for the lead.

Friday night’s winner, Kyle Berck, rolled past seven cars to finish third. He never really had much breathing room as he was constantly around other cars for position. Chris Simpson pushed forward form eleventh to run fourth. In only his second dirt late model feature, Ryan Gustin passed nine cars and rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Will Vaught, Brad Looney, Kyle Berck, Chris Simpson, Ryan Gustin, Eric Turner, David Turner, Tommy Weder Jr., Jesse Stovall, Chad Simpson, Mark Dotson, Matt Johnson, Justin Asplin, Spencer Diercks, Rob Moss, Bill Leighton, Grant Junghans, Bill Koons, Travis Dickes, Dave Eckrich, Tony Jackson Jr., Jason Bodenhammer, Sonny Findling, John Anderson.



Previous articleLafferty Sprints In Grove’s Fall Fest
Next articleJimmy Owens Banks $50,000 DTWC is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.