Turner Rides The Rail At Tazewell


TAZEWELL, Tenn. — Matthew Turner threw caution to the wind and rode the treacherous guard rails of Tazewell Speedway to his first Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series win on Sunday night in the West Chevrolet 50 driving the J.T. Kerr Racing Equipment Special.

After hard contact with the second turn guard rail on a lap nine restart knocked him back to the third spot, Turner recovered, stayed on the high side of the high banks, and drove around the outside of both second-place William Thomas and race leader Tim Busha on lap 28 to take the lead, and go on to collect the $3,000 top prize with the victory.

“That was a hard hit on the restart, but the car felt good, so we just kept digging,” Turner said. “Our car worked the best on the high side right up against the guard rail, so as long as it didn’t reach out and grab us, we were good. The Chevrolet Performance CT 525 engine was a good fit for this race track because I could run flat out through turns three and four. It was a pretty awesome ride from where I was sitting and I hope the fans saw a good show tonight.”

Busha made several tries to challenge Turner for the lead by diving to the bottom of the track in the corners, but Turner had enough momentum to keep the point, and Busha had to settle for second in the Kilpatrick Racing GRT. Thomas stayed right with Turner and Busha for the entire race and finished third in the Alexander’s Industrial Service GRT.

National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame Inductee Ronnie Johnson started 10th and finished fourth in the Tommy Pope Construction Warrior, and his teammate Brad Hall from the 13th starting spot to finish fifth in the NeSmith Chevrolet Special.

Thomas holds a 44-point lead over Johnson in the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series point standings after the first six races.

The finish:

Matthew Turner, Tim Busha, William Thomas, Ronnie Johnson, Brad Hall, David Brannon, Brent Barrett, Adam Martin, Mark Dowdy, Steve Kirk, Brad Smith, Ted Lackey, Ross Martin, Richie Stephens, Brian Courtney, Chase Edge, Adam Beeler, Frank Wilson, Billy Thomas, Carlton Freeman.