Southern Nationals Series Finalizes Schedule


BRASSTOWN, N.C. — Promoter Ray Cook has announced the final changes to the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels schedule.

The mini-tour will hold 12 events spread across 16 days.

The Southern Nationals will begin at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn., on Friday, July 10 and go through Saturday, July 25 at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway. First time tracks to the tour will include I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, Tenn., on July 14 as the tour will visit the Tim and Angie Kyle-owned race track for $3,500-to-win. The other new track on the schedule will be the Kelly Walker-owned Needmore Speedway in Norman Park, Ga., on July 17 for $10,000-to-win.

All tracks will be able to race with fans as of now. Out of the 12 tracks, the only one that is waiting official word is Wythe Raceway, but promoter Fred Brown is hopeful that by the first of July he’ll have the green light to be able to host fans for the July 11 race date.

Over the 12-race tour, over $314,000 will go out the door in nightly prize money and tour-ending points fund money. The champion will receive $5,053. Drivers may drop their worst finish at the end of the tour plus they may drop/miss a race if needed. The purses will be $3,500-to-win with $400-to-start and $10,000-to-win and $500-to-start. Tow money of $75 per car will be paid to any driver not making the field of 22 each night.

Some of the drivers expected to follow the tour include Ross Bailes, Cla Knight, Jake Knowles, Donald McIntosh, Brandon Overton and Pearson Lee Williams.

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Schedule

July 10 – Smoky Mountain Speedway – Maryville, Tenn.
July 11 – Wythe Raceway – Rural Retreat, Va.
July 13 – Volunteer Speedway – Bulls Gap, Tenn.
July 14 – I-75 Raceway – Sweetwater, Tenn.
July 16 – Senoia Raceway – Senoia, Ga.
July 17 – Needmore Speedway – Norman Park, Ga.
July 19 – Rome Speedway – Rome, Ga.
July 21 – Tri-County Race Track – Brasstown, N.C.
July 23 – Crossville Speedway – Crossville, Tenn.
July 24 – 411 Motor Speedway – Seymour, Tenn.
July 25 – Tazewell Speedway – Tazewell, Tenn.