Southern Nationals Sanctions Butterball Race


SOMERSET, Ky. — Richmond Raceway track owners and promoters Joey and Tiffany Tackett have announced the 2014 version of the Sunoco Race Fuels Paul “Butterball” Wooldridge Memorial event for Super Late Models will take place on July 12, 2014 and will be sanctioned by the Southern Nationals Bonus Races by CT Promotions.

Also as part of the announcement, the Tackett’s confirmed that the event will be 60 laps in distance and the winner will earn $10,000 for their efforts. It will be the first time in the 27 year history of this historic event that the winner’s share of the event will be $10,000 and it will also be the first time in the history of Richmond Raceway that Super Late Models will contest an event that pays that amount of money to win.

The race will also be the third of the five race Battle of Supers (BoS) series at Richmond Raceway in 2014, where the track is hosting its own mini-series for the five extra-paying Super Late Model events that will be contested at the track in 2014.

The event will be sanctioned by the Southern Nationals Bonus Races by CT Promotions and series race director Chris Tilley is thrilled to get to be involved in the event.

“I’m really excited we are going to be a part of the long-standing, rich tradition that the Paul ‘Butterball’ Wooldridge race has in the Central Kentucky area,” said Tilley. “Joey and Tiffany (Tackett) have revitalized Richmond Raceway the last few seasons and we have enjoyed working with them in the past and look forward to working with them again in this new venture. It’s a huge undertaking putting on a $10,000 to win event and we feel with the Southern Nationals Bonus Races sanction can bring some national recognition to this already storied event.”

The “Butterball” event was started at Richmond Raceway after long-time nationally-known racer and faithful track supporter Paul Wooldridge, better known in the racing world by his nickname “Butterball,” passed away on Christmas Day of 1987. The first event was contested in 1988, with Brian Asbury of Mitchell, Ind., winning that event.