Six States, 17 Tracks For Lucas Oil MLRA

The Lucas Oil MLRA series has announced a busy 2019 calendar. (Mike Ruefer photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo. – The Lucas Oil Midwest Latemodel Racing Ass’n has announced its schedule for next year, which includes races in six states and at seven new venues.

The season opener returns to Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., for the sixth annual Spring Nationals, April 12-13. The following weekend will find the MLRA series making their first visit of the year to the Hawkeye state. Action will roll off on April 19 at Davenport Speedway as teams tackle the fast half-mile in a $5,000-to-win event.

The following night the MLRA will return to 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa, for the 11th annual Slocum 50. This growing event will once again pay out $10,555 to the winner.

Rounding out the month of April will be a return trip to Thunderbird Speedway in Muskogee, Okla., on April 26. Series staff are still working out details for a second event for the weekend, with details to be released at a later date.

The month of May starts off with the first of seven new venues at Stuart (Iowa) Int’l Speedway. Under the new management of long time racer and race director Mike Van Genderen, the track will begin a four day swing of racing on May 2. On May 3 the series will return Davenport Speedway, with racers this time battling for the $3,000 payday on the speedways inner quarter-mile.

On May 4 the series will travel to West Liberty (Iowa) Raceway for a $5,000-to-win feature. The weekend will conclude on May 5 with a trip to Quincy (Ill.) Raceways.

The Show-Me 100 weekend will take place on May 23-25 as the Lucas Oil MLRA stars race alongside the top drivers from the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. This trifecta weekend will again feature the $6,000-to-win Cowboy Classic on Thursday night, followed by Friday’s Tribute to Don & Billie Gibson and then Saturday’s $30,000-to-win Show-Me 100 finale.

Next is another new venue for the series, Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill., on May 31. Following the trip to Belle-Clair, the series will then visit Lake Ozark Speedway in Eldon, Mo., on June 1.

The MLRA will continue its fast paced month of June with their inaugural visit to the Badger State. Beaver Dam Raceway in Beaver Dam, Wis., will welcome drivers for a $4,000-to-win main event on June 14 before the series heads to Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway on June 15.

Mother Nature stopped the series’ first trip to Rapid Speedway in 2018, but the Rock Rapids, Iowa, facility will try again on June 21 with a $3,000-to-win show. Series officials are working on a second weekend event to go along with the trip to Rapid Speedway.

The sixth annual Freedom Classic at Salina Highbanks Speedway in Pryor Creek, Okla., will wrap up the weekend on June 28-29. A $3,000-to-win show will take place on Friday, followed by a $5,000-to-win feature on Saturday.

Next the stars of the MLRA series will return to Enid (Okla.) Speedway for the Firecracker Nationals on July 3. It will be the first visit for the series to Enid since 1993. Following a day off on July 4, the series will be back in action on July 5-6 at Oklahoma’s Longdale Speedway.

Lucas Oil Speedway will play host to the $12,000-to-win Diamond Nationals on July 13, which will be co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. The Clyde Ellis Memorial at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., is next on July 26, with a second race for that weekend still in the works.

Labor Day weekend will see the MLRA back at Lucas Oil Speedway on Aug. 31 for the $5,075-to-win Larry Phillips Memorial, followed by another trip to Quincy Raceways on Sept. 1 for a $5,000-to-win feature.

The season will conclude on Oct. 1-12 at Lucas Oil Speedway with the sixth annual Fall Nationals, which will be co-sanctioned by the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series.

Previous articleGateway Midget Masters Are Bell & Courtney
Next articleJustin Haley Joins Kaulig Racing is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.