Six Races For IMCA Lone Star Tour


ABILENE, Texas – The second annual Lone Star IMCA Sunoco Stock Car Tour champion will earn a $5,000 payday.

Six February race dates have been announced for the Sniper Speed-sponsored tour. The top-10 driv­ers in final point standings earn shares of a $13,600 point fund with all drivers finishing 11th on back who have perfect tour attendance eligible for one of four drawings for $250.

Each feature pays $750 to win with IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, EQ Cylin­der Heads Southern Region and Texas State points at stake. The tour champion also becomes eligible to qualify for the Sunoco Race Fuels Race of Champi­ons during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s in September.

Opening night is Saturday, Feb. 16 during the Ice Breaker special at Abilene Speedway. 281 Speed­way in Stephenville, Texas, hosts the Sunday, Feb. 17 show.

The tour is at Boyd Raceway on Monday and Tuesday, Feb. 18-19. After a off day, the tour resumes with an open practice and party at Kennedale Speedway Park on Thursday, Feb. 21.

Two races on Feb. 22-23 at Kennedale Speedway Park bring the tour to a close.

The tour runner-up earns $2,500, with $2,000 paid for third, $1,500 for fourth, $1,000 for fifth, $500 for sixth, $400 for seventh, $300 for eighth, $250 for ninth and $150 for 10th. Approximately $40,000 in contingency awards will be given; Dirt Defender adds $200 to the nightly payout to four of the sixth through last place finishers competing with special Lone Star Tour/Dirt Defender wheel covers.

All pre-registered drivers will be automatically randomly placed on a 4-member team. The highest point finishing team earns a $2,000 bonus sponsored by Stephenville Starter & Electric.

Previous articleBass Pro Shops Follows Truex To JGR
Next articleBischak To Run Pavement Side Of Silver Crown Slate is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.