Simpson Does It Again In MLRA Late Models

Chris Simpson won his second consecutive MLRA late model feature Friday at Lee County Speedway. (Jim Denhamer photo)

DONNELLSON, Iowa — Friday marked the second and final visit of the season by the Lucas Oil MLRA to Lee County Speedway.

Another big crowd was on hand for the series’ seventh race of the season. For the second straight night Chris Simpson took the checkers after leading the entire distance.

“The car felt good all night,” said. “I figured as good as we’ve been, I felt like we could have started third, and I feel like we had a good enough car that we could have won the race. I had a very maneuverable car. It’s awesome to win here in Iowa.”

Chad Simpson came home the runner-up in his new Black Diamond chassis. The feature went caution free so his brother, Chris, got away a bit, but he was involved with lapping cars while keeping Jordan Yaggy at bay.

The third-place finish for Yaggy marks his best run with the Lucas Oil MLRA.

Simpson’s win is his third of the season on the tour, and comes on the heels of his victory a night earlier at Scotland County Speedway. He was also the fast qualifier with a lap of 16.019 seconds.

Brent Larson and Jesse Stovall completed the top five.

The finish:

Chris Simpson, Chad Simpson, Jordan Yaggy, Brent Larson, Jesse Stovall, Bobby Pierce, Tony Jackson Jr., Rodney Sanders, Dave Eckrich, Randy Timms, Jason Feger, Brantlee Gotschall, Terry Phillips, Rickey Frankel, Justin Duty, J.C. Wyman, Spencer Diercks, Raymond Merrill, Matt Furman, Jeremy Grady, Kolby Vandenbergh, Joseph Gorby, James Wilson, Todd Frank