Simpson Claims Lucas Oil Money


WHEATLAND, Mo. — Chad Simpson was fast from the outset of Saturday’s Lucas Oil MLRA feature, but it wasn’t until lap 35 that he took the lead from Jesse Stovall at Lucas Oil Speedway.

The pair raced to the flag stand off of turn four and Simpson never looked back.

“It was a pretty wild one tonight,” said Simpson. “We’re never going to catch a break on these draws at the beginning of the night. We got to start deep in a heat race just like we were last week. We got up to fourth, and I just knew that wasn’t going to be good enough to get us in the top couple of rows. Starting tenth is pretty tough anywhere you go, especially with the caliber of cars that are here. I just got up on the wheel.”

The win comes on the heels of second and third place finishes last weekend for Simpson.

Will Vaught led the opening eleven laps, before Stovall was able to work to the front in lapped traffic. Stovall slowed late in the race with a flat left-rear tire, which ended his shot a solid finish.

The race’s final caution waved with just three laps to go. On the restart it was smooth sailing for Simpson as Vaught and 17th-starting Eric Turner dueled for second. Vaught held the position at the checkers, with Turner scored in third.

The finish:

Chad Simpson, Will Vaught, Eric Turner, Tony Jackson Jr., Brad Looney, David Turner, Brandon McCormick, Dave Eckrich, Bryon Allison, Chase Junghans, Travis Dickes, Mark Dotson, Jason Russell, Jesse Stovall, John Anderson, Shawn Knuckles, Justin Asplin, Jason O’Brien, Matt Johnson, Terry Phillips, Matt Brookshire, Kevin Sather, Justin Wells, Tommy Weder Jr.



Previous articleMadsen Moves In MOWA Opener
Next articleMartin Masters Arizona Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.