Seifert & Sobbing Are Late-Night Stock Car Aces


BOONE, Iowa — Jared Siefert and Jesse Sobbing came out on top of a pair of chaotic stock car qualifiers early Sunday morning during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s at Boone Speedway.

The final pair of stock car qualifiers were originally scheduled to take place Friday, but were pushed to Saturday due to the continued interference of Mother Nature. The top-four finishers from each feature earned starting positions in Sunday’s championship feature at the third-mile dirt oval.

The first feature saw three incidents before the field could complete a lap, with the final of those incidents resulting in outside polesitter Shane Stoneburner flipping his car twice after contact with polesitter Devin Smith before the field even reached the start/finish line.

As a result of the multiple incidents Shane Richardson and Mathew West inherited the front row, with West leading the first lap before the caution would wave again for debris on the backstretch.

West was able to hold serve on the restart, but another caution waved with 22 laps left. The field got one more lap in during the next restart before another caution flag waved, this time for a multi-car crash in turns one and two.

The field was able to get a few more laps in before the next caution with 18 laps left. By that point Siefert had advanced from his 18th starting position to third. When racing resumed West again held the point, but Travis Barker and Siefert were right on his heels.

With eight laps left Siefert was able to move by Barker for second and begin challenging West for the lead. With six laps left Siefert made his move, going to the top in turns three and four to get a run on West and take the lead at the start/finish line.

Siefert would lead the remaining laps to take the victory over West, with Barker and Tom Cannon also earning starting positions in Saturday’s stock car championship race.

The second stock car qualifier got underway with Shaylon Holloway taking the lead going into turn one with Shadren Turner and Jason Rogers in hot pursuit. Rogers moved into second on the third circuit before a caution on the next lap slowed the field.

When the green flag waved Turner got a great start and jumped to the outside to challenge for the lead, but got sideways and spun in front of the field to bring the caution back out.

Holloway remained the leader during the restart, but only for a short time as Rogers drove by him coming out of turn four with 20 laps left to snatch the lead away. The caution would wave on the next lap for a spin in turn two to bring the caution back out.

On the next restart Rogers held the lead, but Sobbing moved his way into second. A few laps later the caution would wave again, this time for a pileup in turn two that involved four cars. Rogers continued to lead, but he would soon have company in the way of Dan Mackenthun.

Mackenthun had made his way into the top-four and was challenging for second when the caution waved for a spin in turn four with 12 laps left. Mackenthun stayed right with Rogers during the restart and with nine laps left he came out of turn two alongside Rogers in a battle for the lead.

However, heading down the backstretch the pair made light contact, which in turn sent Mackenthun spinning into a light pole in the infield. Mackenthun’s car hit the pole passenger side first. The impact dislodged the lights from the top of the pole, which then landed on the roof of Mackenthun’s car. He was unhurt in the crash, which amazingly didn’t result in a caution.

Meanwhile, Sobbing had suddenly run down Rogers and was battling him for the lead. Coming to the white flag Sobbing got to the outside of Rogers and they raced side-by-side into turn one.

Sobbing was able to complete the pass coming out of turn four on the final lap to take the win, with Rogers, Michael Jaennette and Ethan Dotson also securing spots in Sunday’s stock car finale.

The finishes:

First Qualifier: Jared Siefert, Mathew West, Travis Barker, Tom Cannon, Josh Daniels, Barrett Wagoner, Mike Van Genderen, Kellie Drury, Justin Nehring, Mike Albertsen, Justin Temeyer, Tyler Pickett, Austin Brauner, Troy Burkhart, Chad Hertel, Dale Eaton, Shane Richardson, Chad Krogmeier, Justin Luinenburg, Travis Baird, Don Vis, Greg Taylor, Pete Alexander, Chase Alves, Todd Gereau, Dustin Larson, Devin Smith, Shane Stoneburner, Trace Ayers, Kole Nordquist.

Second Qualifier: Jesse Sobbing, Jason Rogers, Michael Jaennette, Ethan Dotson, John Watson, Brock Badger, Tommy Fain, William Gould, Billy Wade, Brandon Hood, Dusty Van Horn, Shaylon Holloway, Shadren Turner, Donnie Gustoff, Jason Schoenberger, Russell Damme Jr., Jordan Ross, Eric Rempel, Beau Taylor, Dan Mackenthun, Wayne Becker, Mich Ross, Casey Woken, Troy Swearingen, Austin Jahnz, Jordan Zillmer, A.J. Dancer, Bruce Plumisto, John Oliver Jr., Randy Brands.

Every night of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s on Sept. 7-13 will be broadcast live via SPEED SPORT TV affiliate IMCA.TV. Check out all of our coverage of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals on our coverage index page!