Scott Bloomquist Is Back On Top At Eldora

Wins $100,000 Dirt Late Model Dream

Scott Bloomquist (0) takes the lead from Brandon Overton en route to his seventh Dirt Late Model Dream victory at Ohio's Eldora Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

ROSSBURG, Ohio — Scott Bloomquist powered around the outside of Brandon Overton on lap 55 and cruised the rest of the way to a dominant victory for his seventh victory in the $100,00 to-win Dirt Late Model Dream presented by Ferris Mowers at Eldora Speedway on Saturday night.

“It’s like all these big shows, you are just glad they are over with,” Bloomquist said. “Mission accomplished!”

Bloomquist started seventh after finishing in second-place in the opening heat race and methodically worked his way forward from the drop of the green flag.

He cracked the top-five on lap eight and moved to fourth-place when Mason Zeigler, who was running in the top five, brought out the first caution flag when he slowed with a flat tire on lap 12. On the double-file restart, Bloomquist jumped to the runner-up position behind leader Brandon Overton.

Bloomquist swapped the second-position with Brandon Sheppard three times over the next 40 laps before finally shaking free of the Illinois driver on lap 53.

Two laps later the 53-year old Bloomquist made the winning move around Overton and was never seriously challenged the remaining 45 laps building as much as an eight second lead in the closing stages of the event.

“This has always been one of my favorite places to race ever since I first came here in 1988,” Bloomquist said. “It is such a beautiful race track and you can race all over it from the inside wall to the outside wall. I can’t say enough for how these guys prep a race track. There were a few little bumps but that just gave the track character.”

Bloomquist took his time with lapped traffic late in the race and crossed the finish line 4.5 seconds ahead of Sheppard who won a spirited battle with Overton for the runner-up position.

Scott Bloomquist in victory lane at Eldora Speedway. (Jim DenHamer photo)

“I wasn’t really sure (how big the lead was), then I got to some of the lapped traffic and the 18 car and I about had him cleared; our air got a little messed up and I got loose so I backed off a little bit and tried not to get too much heat in the tires. That would have cost us more than anything,” Bloomquist said.

Sheppard’s runner-up finish and Overton’s third-place finish were career best runs in the Dream for both of the young drivers.

“That was a fun race there with Brandon (Overton). We always race each other clean, so it was fun racing with him and congratulations to Scott. He was pretty good,” Sheppard, 24 years old of New Berlin, Illinois said. “Once me and Brandon got the line figured out that we wanted to run, we were already too far behind.”

“That’s not too bad at all. We will take that,” Overton, 26 years old of Evans, Georgia, said. “Congratulations to Scott. If we are going to lose, these are the two to lose to. Me and Brandon raced each other as clean as we could. We faded a little bit but to get out there and lead we are all tickled to death. I want to thank all the fans here and back in Georgia. This place is pretty cool.”

Tim McCreadie finished in fourth-place for his best career Eldora finish, while Chris Madden rounded out the top five, after starting 14th.

Kent Robinson led the first 11 laps of the main event from his outside front-row starting position before giving way to Overton who led laps 12-55. After that it was all Bloomquist.

“It’s awesome to win here,” Bloomquist said. “We have a lot of fans and a lot of naysayers but that’s what makes it all go around.”

Bobby Pierce raced from 24th in a B main to fourth and the raced from the back of the feature to finish 13th.

The finish:

Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Sheppard, Brandon Overton, Tim McCreadie, Chris Madden, Dale McDowell, Jimmy Mars, Mike Marlar, Earl Pearson Jr., Zack Dohm, Chris Simpson, Billy Moyer, Bobby Pierce, Chase Junghans, Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, Kent Robinson, Jon Henry, Hudson O’Neal, Devin Moran, Jeff Babcock, Darrell Lanigan, Mason Zeigler, Tyler Erb, Jonathan Davenport, Shane Clanton, Shannon Babb, Frank Heckenast Jr.