ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Rusty Schlenk kicked off the third running of the Gateway Dirt Nationals with a dominant victory in the 20-lap Race of Champions.

Schlenk started from the pole and grabbed the lead at the start of the race on the fifth-mile temporary oval inside The Dome at America’s Center and slowly pulled away from Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion Jonathan Davenport.

Davenport ended up finishing second, nearly a full second behind Schlenk at the finish. Dennis Erb Jr. was third, followed by Jason Feger and Brandon Sheppard. The victory was worth $5,000 for Schlenk.

The race featured former Gateway winners, crown jewel winners and series champions from across the country. The starting lineup was determined by a pill draw.

The finish:

Rusty Schlenk, Jonathan Davenport, Dennis Erb Jr., Jason Feger, Brandon Sheppard, Shannon Babb, Jeremiah Hurst, Don O’Neal, Bobby Pierce, Billy Moyer, Gordy Gundaker, Scott Bloomquist, Tim McCreadie.