It’s All Richie Gustin At Independence

Richie Gustin (19s) battles Justin Mitchell at Independence Motor Speedway. (Scott Swenson photo)

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa — Richie Gustin is glad he reconsidered his plans Saturday.

After initially expecting to take the night off from racing, Gustin decided to make the trip to Independence Motor Speedway for the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models.

By night’s end, he was standing in victory lane celebrating the first series win of his career.

Gustin made his way past race-long leader Justin Mitchell with 11 laps to go to drive to the milestone victory.

Pole-sitter Mitchell assumed command early with Gustin in tow. The leader reached slower traffic after just 10 laps with Gustin remaining in pursuit the entire time.

Gustin stuck with him and was eventually able to work the low side past Mitchell exiting turn two on lap 29. He led the rest of the way to secure the $2,000 payday ahead of Mitchell.

Travis Denning, Luke Goedert and Curt Martin completed the top five in the caution-free 40-lapper.

Tyler Bruening crossed the line third, however his rearend axle housing failed post-race inspection.

Gustin became the fourth different winner in as many series events this season and the 98th different feature winner in the 31-year history of the late model tour.

Thirty-five Late Models signed in to compete Saturday night.

Heading into the final installment of the Triple Crown, Gustin holds a two-point lead over Carter.

The finish:

Richie Gustin, Justin Mitchell, Travis DenningLuke Goedert, Curt Martin, Jake Neal, Cayden Carter, Jesse Sobbing, Rick Wendling, Joel Callahan, Matt Ryan, Jeremiah Hurst, Luke Pestka, Kyle Hinrichs, Darrel DeFrance, Jeff Tharp, Jay Johnson, Chad Holladay, Paul Conrad, Troy Hovey, Rob Toland, Jeff Aikey, Curt Schroeder, Tyler Bruening.