Ray Cook Smokes Marysville Foes


MARYVILLE, Tenn. — There was a new winner at Smoky Mountain Speedway in 2012 Saturday as the Southern Regional Racing Series rolled into town for the 40-lap $3,000-to-win Showdown.

Vic Hill has dominated this season but a vacation this weekend has prompted a new winner. Ray Cook who took the lead from Brett Miller on lap 8 to go on to victory over Billy Ogle Jr., Tommy Kerr, Brett Miller and D.J. Myers.

Cook drove to victory lane while driving the Hicks and Ingle Construction, A+ Moving and Storage, D&R Motorsports sponsored Race Engine Design powered MasterSbilt Race Car to the win of the 35 lapper.

One red flag stopped the race as Mark Vineyard’s ride wound up on top of David Crabtree’s entry, both were pulled off one another and continued. Then the first full yellow came on lap 15 as Mark Douglas slowed in turn two then the final yellow came on lap 17 as Skip Arp slowed in turn two.

The finish:

Ray Cook, Billy Ogle Jr., Tommy Kerr, Brett Miller, D.J. Myers, Josh Putnam, David Payne, Ronnie Johnson, Mark Vineyard, Skylar Marlar, Riley Hickman, Aaron Ridley, Pierce McCarter, Jeff Watson, Josh Henry, David Crabtree, Skip Arp, Mark Douglas, Chad Ogle, Bobby Giffin, Jeff Franklin, Steve Smith, Weston Gantte, Mike Weeks, Matt Henderson, Sammie Russell.