Pierce Runs Down Schlenk At Oakshade

Bobby Pierce in victory lane Friday night at Oakshade Raceway. (Jim DenHamer photo)

WAUSEON, Ohio — Bobby Pierce put the lid on his third consecutive UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals championship with a victory in Friday night’s penultimate race in the series at Oakshade Raceway.

In the first of two nights at the three-eighths-mile oval, Pierce ran down leader Rusty Schlenk and grabbed the lead on lap 32 of the 40-lap race.

Pierce led the remainder of the distance for his fifth victory of this year’s Summer Nationals and a $5,000 prize.

Schlenk finished second with Ryan Unzicker, Cody Mahoney and Jon Henry rounding out the top five.

The series concludes tonight at Oakshade Raceway.

The finish:

Bobby Pierce, Rusty Schlenk, Ryan Unzicker, Cody Mahoney, Jon Henry, Billy Moyer Jr., Curtis Roberts, Devin Shiels, Brad Eitniear, Mike Bores, Brian Ruhlman, Jason Feger, Travis Stemler, Bob Gardner, Brent Larson, Gordy Gundaker, Steve Kester, Curtis Deisenroth, Kent Robinson, Dusty Moore, Brandon Thirlby, Jeff Babcock, Michael Kloos, Mathew Chapman.