Pecore Times It Right For Oswego Sportsman Glory


OSWEGO, N.Y. – Shane Pecore parleyed a car that was good on the outside and a balky lapped car that slowed leader Robert Bublak into a last lap, last corner pass that put him into victory lane Sunday in the Chevrolet Performance 75 for DIRTcar Sportsman at Oswego Speedway.

Polesitter Dave Marcucilli led easily through the first portion of the race with Bublak, out of the fourth row, working past contenders Kevin Root, Adam McAuliffe and Pecore to show second on lap 21. He then inherited the lead when Marcucilli’s power steering blew in a huge cloud of smoke on lap 29.

At that point Pecore was second and they ran that way with Bublak leading easily until lap 49, when he once again caught the tail of the field and had to lap the tailenders using the entire speedway. With errant lapped cars slowing him down, Pecore closed on Bublak and on lap 59 pinned the leader behind a lapped car and took command.  It was brief however as Bublak rallied back and drove under Pecore the next time around to regain the lead.

Pecore got alongside the leader a number of times between that point and the white flag lap, but could never put him away. On their last trip around the five-eighths-mile dirt covered asphalt track, Pecore blew it into turns three and four extra hard at the same time that a lapped car bobbled in front of Bublak, costing him the win.

Adam McAuliffe was third ahead of Connor Cleveland, Andrew Buff, Dave Constantino, Martin Pelletier, Kevin Root, David Schilling and Andrew Smith.  Amazingly, the second through sixth place finishers were all from the Capital District of New York.

“These guys are the best in the business and it’s really hard to beat them,” said Pecore.  “The track was awesome and I think we put on a heck of a show for the fans.  That lapped car held him up on the bottom and I made it around him. Amazing.”

Bublak was less gracious, saying, “The lapped cars just wouldn’t get the (heck) out of the way. It sucks. We came up just short again.”

The finish:

Shane Pecore, Robert Bublak, Adam McAuliffe, Connor Cleveland, Andrew Bluff, Dave Constantino, Martin Pelletier, Kevin Root, David Schilling, Andrew Smith, Bob Henry Jr., Will Shields, Brad Rouse, Jeremy Pitts, Kyle Inman, Brianna Ladouceur, Zach Sobotka, Jackson Gill, James M. Friesen, Christopher Corbett, Jessica Power, Darryl Nutting, Willy Decker Jr., Mike Stacey, A.J. Lloyd, Corey Barker, Robert Delormier, Ryan Macartney, Tyler Thompson, Dave Marcuccilli, Ryan Stabler, Mike Fowler, Alan Fink, Buck Branham.