Payne Takes MLRA’s Freedom Classic


SALINA, Okla. – The Inaugural Freedom Classic for the Lucas Oil MLRA at Salina Highbanks Speedway ended with a bang as Jeremy Payne took home the giant, custom American Eagle trophy and the $5,000 paycheck.

Payne took the green flag from the inside of the second row and quickly jumped to second ahead of Ryan Gustin. Chad Simpson started on the pole but midway through the race cut a tire down. Payne restarted out front after the caution and held the lead for the reminder of the race. An attempted pass by Gustin on lap 36 ended with the No. 19R up on the left side of Payne, who was able to keep momentum and the lead during the incident.

“The track was really good there for the first half of the race and then it kind of started cleaning up. Down there in three and four, you know he (Gustin) just had a good run and he is a hard racer, when five thousand is on the line you are going to race like that,” said Payne.

Tony Jackson Jr. was second, followed by Travis Dickes, Jack Sullivan and Tommy Weder Jr.

The finish:

Jeremy Payne, Tony Jackson Jr., Travis Dickes, Jack Sullivan, Tommy Weder Jr., Brantlee Gotschall, Terry Phillips, Jason Hughes, Wendell Wallace, Chad Simpson, Brandon McCormick, Brandon Morton, Mark Dotson, Brett Hansen, Leroy Johnson, Scott Lewis, John Driskill, Dave Eckrich, Bill Koons, Jeff Roth, Ryan Gustin, Justin Asplin, Jason Redman, James Parker.

Previous articleBarney Cops ESS Sprint Cash
Next articleBrewer Breaks Through At Hickory is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.