Owens Loses $20,000 NDRL Victory

Jimmy Owens, shown here in NDRL victory lane at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55, will not be allowed to appeal his disqualification from his victory there in April. (Don Figler photo)
Jimmy Owens, shown here in NDRL victory lane at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 earlier this month, has been disqualified from the event as a result of a tire infraction. (Don Figler photo)

PITTSBURGH – Jimmy Owens has been disqualified from the National Dirt Racing League’s Let’s Get Dirty 75 at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo.

Owens will be assessed several other penalties because a tire he used during the April 13 event failed a laboratory test and does not conform with the manufacturers submitted benchmark according to NDRL officials. Owens will forfeit his $20,000 win and all points earned for that event.

Samples were taken from the right front, left rear and right rear tires that were mounted on Owens’ car during post-race inspection and were tested for conformance to the manufacturer’s submitted benchmark. The testing results did not meet the Hoosier UMP LM-40 tire benchmark which has forced NDRL officials to strip Owens of the huge $20,000 victory.

Penalties for the above infraction also include a fine of $1,500 along with reimbursement of lab testing costs prior to being eligible to compete in any future NDRL sanctioned events including the NDRL’s ULMS Racing Series or the NDRL’s McKean County Raceway events.

As a result of the disqualification, Brian Birkhofer has been declared the winner and will receive full winner’s pay and points for the Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 event. The rest of the finishing order will be moved up a position and will receive payment for difference in payout in the mail shortly.

The NDRL’s Let’s Get Dirty Tour championship point standings have also changed as Owens, who led the standings has been credited with zero points for the I-55 event. Jimmy Mars now leads the title chase with 390 points followed by Billy Moyer with 386 points. Newly crowned I-55 winner Brian Birkhofer (384) sits third with Paducah winner Josh Richards (374) and Dennis Erb Jr. (368) rounding out the top five.

Previous articleVIR Added To K&N Pro East Schedule
Next articleBrown Cashes In At Texas Thunder
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.