It’s Shannon Babb In Daugherty Hell Tour Go

Shannon Babb won Sunday's Summernationals late model feature at Daugherty Speedway. (Stan Kalwasinski photo)

BOSWELL, Ind. — Shannon Babb scored his first victory on the 2017 UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Sunday night as the Moweaqua, Ill., speedster captured the $5,000-to-win 30-lap headliner at Daugherty Speedway.

Due to a concern of rough and dusty track conditions, the main event distance was shortened to 30 laps from the regularly-scheduled 40 and show-up points were only offered to all competitors by series officials.

Posting his 91st Summer Nationals career victory, the 43-year-old Babb, a four-time Summer Nationals overall champion, charged into the lead from his outside front row starting spot as the field of 22 took the green flag.

Babb was in control the entire race and took the checkered flag with a 1.047-second margin over Billy Moyer.

Bobby Pierce, Jason Feger and Bob Gardner rounded out the top five and were the only cars on the lead lap as only eight competitors were still running at the finish.

Three yellow flags slowed the action with the final one coming with 22 laps completed when Cody Mahoney, who started the evening leading the current “Hell Tour” points, slowed and came to a stop of the track.

Feger was the winner of the C main with Moyer, Babb and Mike Spatola scoring heat race wins. Pierce was the fastest qualifier among 27 entries, getting around the three-eighths mile dirt oval in 13.535 seconds.

The finish:

Shannon Babb, Billy Moyer, Bobby Pierce, Jason Feger, Bob Gardner, Paul Stubber, Dustin Nobbe, Cody Fultz, Cody Mahoney, Jeff Riddell, Ian Keller, Mike Spatola, Billy Moyer Jr., Brandon Williams, Mike Staggs, Eddie Martin, Gordy Gundaker, Mark Rose, Jim Bailey, Ryan Unzicker, Jose Parga, Brent Larson.