Ogle Dominates At Smoky Mountain


MARYVILLE, Tenn. — Billy Ogle Jr. became the 12th different winner in series history as he claimed the $6,000 first-place prize during the Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series by Schaeffer’s Oil at Smoky Mountain Speedway on Saturday night.

Ogle took over the point after race leader Chris Madden had contact with a lapped car on the 16th circuit causing him to spin and slam the turn one wall. That put Ogle to the lead for the remaining laps. Ogle drove to Victory Lane in the Blount Motorsports, Blount Excavating, Explosive Specialists and Massey Electric sponsored Vic Hill Racing Engines powered Rocket Chassis to the event win. Ogle became the third different winner this season in three events.

Vic Hill, who started second, finished second in the Landair Transport and Pilot Travel Centers Vic Hill Racing Engines powered Warrior Race Car. Skip Arp charged from the 11th starting spot to finish third.

The finish:

Billy Ogle Jr., Vic Hill, Skip Arp, Mike Marlar, Stacy Boles, Riley Hickman, Austin Smith, Donald McIntosh, Eric Wells, Michael Chilton, Tommy Kerr, Cory Hedgecock, David Payne, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Tom Maddox, Kenny Collins, Casey Roberts, Chris Madden, Chris Ferguson, Mark Douglas, Victor Lee, Chris Wilson, Chad Ogle.