Nosbisch Conquers East Bay Crate LMs

Jack Nosbisch Jr. passes Josh Peacock .

Jack Nosbisch Jr. passes Josh Peacock .
Jack Nosbisch Jr. passes Josh Peacock .
GIBSONTON, Fla. — Jackie Nosbisch Jr. now has six top-10 finishes in the crate late model portion of East Bay Raceway’s Winternationals, but he never had a win before Thursday night, nor had he won $2,000 in such a convincing style.

His new Rocket launched ahead of the 22-car field at the halfway mark of the 30-lap feature and finished one-half a lap ahead of the rest of the competition for an 8.79-second victory over Shan Smith, Josh Peacock, David Pollen Jr. and Keith Nosbisch.

“The car was working flawlessly,” said the soft-spoken winner. “We changed stuff around to run the outside because I figured everyone would be on the bottom and right about lap 16, three of us were battling for the lead. Peacock, who had led the first 13 laps until I passed him on the outside on lap 14 and Keith Nosbisch got in the mix also before I decided ‘outside’ was the only way to go.”

Phillip Cobb and Josh Peacock brought the field to the green, but it was Peacock that led through the first three yellow flags and until the halfway mark when Jackie tried the outside to be scored as the leader on lap 14. A rash of yellow flags for minor spins on laps 17 and 18 happened before the Nosbisch machine started to distance its self from the field.

With five laps to go, the winner had a five second lead over Smith and K. Nosbisch who faded at the end to finish fifth with Peacock landing a third and Pollen advancing to fourth.

Time trials were interrupted for 35 minutes when a brief shower hit the track, but when action resumed Keith Nosbisch of near-by Valrico was the new track record holder of with a time of 15.0380 seconds.
The finish:

Jack Noshbisch Jr., Shan Smith, Josh Peacock, David Pollen Jr., Keith Nosbisch, David Schmauss, Bryan Bernhardt, Travis Varnadore, Kolby Vanderbergh, Bob Gardner, Steve Miller, Bobby Richardson, Kurt Waush, Bill Tesh, Doug Horton, Jeremy Adamik, Derek Brown, Kyle Musselman, Tommy Prince, Phillip Cobb, Megan Meyer, Jamie Slatton.

Register Now