Murphy Makes Second Deery LM Score


DAVENPORT, Iowa — Mike Murphy Jr.’s second Deery Brothers Summer Series late model victory of the season looked a lot like his first.

Murphy led all 40 laps of Friday’s IMCA Late Model tour main event at Davenport Speedway, pulling away from the field much the same way he did two weeks ago in winning the Deery feature at West Burlington.

The outside row one starter rocketed into the lead at the drop of the initial green and again on the restart that followed the only caution of the night, on lap three.

Murphy was checked out by midway, when Justin Kay caught Andy Eckrich for second. Lapped traffic came into play, as Kay was able to reel in the leader and was trying to get his nose inside Murphy with 10 circuits left.

Murphy shut the door instead, getting a lapped car ahead of Kay before wheeling away to win by a comfortable margin. The victory, his Deery career third, paid $2,000.

Kay’s runner-up finish was his series career best showing. Denny Eckrich, Dan Shelliam and Andy Eckrich completed the top five.

Jake Waterman won the IMCA modified feature, Jeremy Marquette topped the street stock race and Mitch Bielenberg won in 4-stocks.

The finish:

Mike Murphy Jr., Justin Kay, Denny Eckrich, Dan Shelliam, Andy Eckrich, Mark Burgtorf, Nate Beuseling, Jay Johnson, Jeff Aikey, Darrel DeFrance, Colby Springsteen, Mike Garland, Joel Callahan, Tyler Bruening, Mike Zemo Jr., Matt Strassheim, Chad Patch, Bryan Klein, Tommy Elston, Gary Webb, Tom Darbyshire, Luke Goedert, Joe Zrostlik, Charlie McKenna.

BREAKING NEWS: SPEED SPORT is back in print with a new monthly format!
Subscribe for just $24.95. Special offer for former subscribers.