Moyer Grabs 95th Hell Tour Triumph

Billy Moyer takes the checkered flag at Sycamore Speedway. (Jim DenHamer photo)

MAPLE PARK, Ill. — Billy Moyer had never been to Sycamore Speedway before, but that didn’t matter as the Batesville, Ark., veteran racer claimed top honors in the DIRTcar UMP Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” 40-lap dirt late model stock car headliner Friday night at the third-mile dirt oval, located some 60 miles west of Chicago.

Grabbing the $7,500 first prize money, Moyer posted his 95th career Summer Nationals victory and picked up his second win in the first three races of the 2017 tour.

Coming from his fourth-place starting position in the 22-car field, Moyer, who has won six Summer Nationals titles during his career, wrestled away the lead from Brian Shirley on lap eight and seemingly coasted to the win ahead of Ryan Unzicker, Shannon Babb, fastest qualifier Billy Drake, two-time Summer Nationals titlist Bobby Pierce, who won Thursday night at Kankakee, and Cody Mahoney.

A multi-car pileup off of turn four on the first lap damaged several cars and put Jason Feger out of the race.  Shirley was running second behind Moyer, but a flat tire caused Shirley to spin between turns three and four with 21 laps complete, putting Shirley on the sidelines.

A total of 38 late model entries, the largest field so far for a Summer Nationals event this year, was on hand.  Chase Junghans won the 12-lap “B” main while Kolby Vandenbergh captured the “C” main.

Becoming the third different driver to score a win so far this year, Nick Hoffman of Mooresville, N.C., was the winner of the DIRTcar UMP Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals 25-lap main event.  Ray Bollinger, Mike McKinney, Tyler Nicely, Steven Brooks and Nick Clubb chased Hoffman to the checkered flag.

The finish:

Billy Moyer, Ryan Unzicker, Shannon Babb, Billy Drake, Bobby Pierce, Cody Mahoney, Gordy Gundaker, Bob Gardner, Chase Junghans, Mike Mataragas, Billy Moyer Jr., Tayler Scheffler, Jay Brendle, Toby Kuntzelman, Mike Spatola, Bren Larson, Dustin Nobbe, Dave Jaeger, Brian Shirley, Spence Diercks, Mark Voight, Jason Feger.