MLRA Creates New Rookie Program


WHEATLAND, Mo. – The Lucas Oil Midwest Latemodel Racing Ass’n has created the all-new Sunoco Race Fuels Rookie of the Year Program.

The addition of this program will ensure the first year drivers a nice bonus at the year end series banquet. The 2013 Sunoco Race Fuels Rookie of the Year will receive a $2,500 cash prize and six barrels of Sunoco Fuel for the 2014 season. Second place will receive a $1,000 bonus and the third place finisher will earn an extra $500.

“It’s no easy task to compete at this level,” said Series Director Dan Robinson. “We’re really pleased with the opportunities Sunoco Race Fuels have provided for our rookies in the upcoming season. I can’t thank Alvie Merrill and the group with Simons Petroleum enough for their help.”

In addition to the yearlong chase, there will be the Sunoco Race Fuels Rookie of the Race as well.

The 2013 season will get underway on April 5-6, with a two day show at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb. From there the series will head to Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., on April 13. To round out the month of April, the Lucas Oil MLRA will look forward to returning to Thunderbird Speedway in Muskogee, Okla., and Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla.

Previous articleMcAnally Signs Pena For K&N West Slate
Next articleCarolina Speedway Sets Hefty Point Fund is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.