McRee Rolls In Batesville Battle

Justin McRee
Justin McRee
Justin McRee

BATESVILLE, Ark. — Justin McRee overcame a series of tough luck to win the 40-lap NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series main event on Friday night at Batesville Motor Speedway driving the High Roller Race Cars Special. McRee and his crew overcame a wreck in hot laps to comeback for his third win of the season.

“We wrecked the car in hot laps and had to replace the radiator and a lot of other pieces, but we overcame that to win the race, so I’ve got to thank my crew for this one,” McRee said. “This track was awesome tonight and we could race just about everywhere we wanted to. I hope we put on a good show for the fans so we can come back here.”

McRee did use all of the race track to run down early race leader Kyle Bronson and like the name of his race car, J-Mac was a High Roller as he stepped to the outside to pass Bronson for the lead on lap nine. Bronson caught McRee late in the race in heavy lapped traffic, but that went away with a lap 36 caution flag.

Bronson had to settle for second in the Brandon Ford Warrior and the Rookie of the Race was busy in the five-lap dash to the finish trying to hold off Tait Davenport, who finished third in the Murtco, Inc. Special.

Two-time NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series Champion Eric Cooley started 10th and finished fourth in the B&M Salvage Rocket to earn the Hedman Husler of the Race Award. National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame Inductee Ronnie Johnson padded his point lead with a fifth-place finish in the NeSmith Chevrolet Special.

The finish:

Justin McRee, Kyle Bronson, Tait Davenport, Eric Cooley, Ronnie Johnson, Wendell Wallace, Eric Hughes, Chris O’Connor, Brent Barrett, Johnny Stokes, Chandler Petty, Robby Moore, Michael Blount, Josh Adkins, Travis Ashley, Troy English, Marcus Minga, Gavin Landers, Joey Smith, Roger Witt, Cody Kierre, Ronny Hollingsworth, Bobby Skinner, Joe Forman.



Previous articleRamaker Is Electric In Montana
Next articleRahmer Gets No. 89 At Williams Grove is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.