Martin Masters West Liberty


WEST LIBERTY, Iowa — Brian Harris proved fastest coming out of the final turn, passing race-long leader Andy Eckrich to win Thursday’s Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at West Liberty Raceway.

Eckrich had drawn the outside front row start and checked out early in the IMCA Late Model tour 35-lapper. Ray Guss, Jr. gave chase before giving way to Harris, who slowly reeled in the home track favorite following a caution with 12 laps to go.

The white flag was out when Harris finally drew even. The frontrunners traded some paint before Harris made his turn four pass on the high line. Eckrich finished a very close second in the sprint to the stripe.

The win paid $2,000 and was the career fifth for Harris. Guss, Tyler Bruening and Kevin Kile completed the top five.

The finish:

Brian Harris, Andy Eckrich, Ray Guss, Jr., Tyler Bruening, Kevin Kile, Terry Neal, Tom Darbyshire, Tom Goble, Joel Callahan, Mike Klinkhammer, Tommy Elston, Stephan Kammerer, Colby Springsteen, Matt Ryan, Nate Beuseling, Mike Murphy, Jr., Dale Stolte, Nick Marolf, Darrel DeFrance, Charlie McKenna, Jay Johnson, Mike Garland, Jeff Guengerich, Justin Reed.