Madden Speeds To Southern Nationals Win

Chris Madden celebrates his first Southern Nationals win of the year on Friday. (Michael Moats photo)

MARYVILLE, Tenn. — It took him nine events to get the job done, but Chris Madden finally got to Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Victory Lane on Friday.

The Gray Court, S.C. competitor led flag-to-flag for the $5,300 victory at the Smoky Mountain Speedway. Madden had not finished outside of the top-ten and had four podium finishes in the first eight races.

Madden and Randy Weaver brought the field of 23 to the start for the 53-lapper with Madden jumping to the outside and the commanding lead early on. Madden lapped up to the sixth place car before the end of the main event. The four time series champion was never challenged for the lead after the last restart that took place after the final yellow on lap 13.

Two cautions closed the main event. The first yellow flag came as the field went into turn one on the initial start and Vic Hill spun around setting the field up for another start. The next yellow would wave on lap 13 as eighth running Tommy Kerr got his bumper locked into the right-rear quarter panel of Bo Eaton, sending both cars to the pits for the night with heavy damage.

The series moves to Tazewell (TN) Speedway on Saturday Night for the $5,300-to-win finale event.

The finish:

Chris Madden, Mike Marlar, Randy Weaver, Billy Ogle Jr., Vic Hill, Mack McCarter, Eric Jacobsen, Donald McIntosh, Anthony Burroughs,  Ryan King, Austin Smith, Craig Vosbergen, Jason Welshan, Chris Wilson, Riley Hickman, Mark Douglas, Josh Putnam, David Crabtree, Skip Arp, Tommy Kerr, Bo Eaton, Mark Vineyard, Stacy Boles