Madden Smokes Maryville Foes


MARYVILLE, Tenn. — The Southern All Star Racing Series would make its second visit of the season to Smoky Mountain Speedway on Saturday evening and fourth-place starting Chris Madden picked up the $5,000 payday in the third annual Big Daddy 500.

The win by Madden would complete a weekend sweep of Southern All Star Racing Series action and marked his 41st career victory with the Southern All Star Racing Series, placing him now second on the series all-time win list.

Vic Hill would take the lead at the start of the 40 lap, $5,000 to win contest and would survive restarts after four early caution flags slowed the action, with Hill able to maintain the lead each time, with Madden, Steve Casebolt, Dale McDowell, and Tommy Kerr giving chase. McDowell would retire with mechanical issues on lap 13 ending his night and disaster would strike Hill a few laps later when his machine slowed in turn one and he pull to infield area with a hole in his radiator. This turn of events would put Madden at the point on lap 19 and Madden would hold the spot and build a comfortable lead throughout the later stages of the contest to grab the victory.

Billy Ogle Jr. grabbed runner-up honors at the finish in the Blount Excavating Rocket, while Tommy Kerr took the final podium spot. Steve Casebolt rolled home fourth at the finish in the Hicks and Ingle Contracting MasterSbilt, while Mark Douglas completed the top five.

In other action for the evening, Adam Beeler would make a turn two last lap pass of Mack McCarter and survive a tangle with a lapped car entering turn three, resulting in McCarter making heavy contact with the outside retaining wall along with the slower car, to take the $1,000 win in the crate late model feature event.

Jeff McElmore won the street stock race.


Previous articleThorn Outraces Liberante At Kern County
Next articleJorge Lorenzo Conquers Catalunya is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.