Madden Marches To $10,000 Payday

Chris Madden (44) battles Kent Robinson during Friday's National Dirt Racing League event at Smoky Mountain Speedway. (Michael Moats Photo)

BULLS GAP, Tenn. — Chris Madden took the lead from Eric Wells on lap 22 to claim the $10,000 payday in the final night of the 13th annual Spring Thaw at Volunteer Speedway which was sanctioned by the Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals by Schaeffer’s Oil.

Madden claimed the $10,000 payday by leading all 60 circuits of the quarter-mile dirt track.. This was Madden’s third straight Saturday night victory coming after the Bama Bash and the Tennessee Tip-Off Classic. Madden also became the 11th different winner in 11 Spring Nationals Series events contested since March 2013.

Madden drove to the victory in the Century Plastics, Hamrick’s of Gaffney, Henderson Amusement, Cushman Paint & Body sponsored Clements Racing Engines powered Bloomquist Team Zero Race Car.

Scott Bloomquist had a hard-fought battle with Madden the night before for second spot and the top three including Wells had a dog fight for the lead during the race’s midpoint. Bloomquist would go around Wells for second spot on the 29th lap but never could overtake Madden for the lead.

Bloomquist finished second ahead of Wells, Billy Ogle Jr. and Mike Marlar.

The finish:
Chris Madden, Scott Bloomquist, Eric Wells, Billy Ogle Jr., Mike Marlar, Donald McIntosh, Casey Roberts, Stacy Boles, Tommy Kerr, Chad Ogle, Mack McCarter, Victor Lee, Austin Smith, Michael Chilton, David Payne, Chris Chandler, Vic Hill, Mark Vineyard, Mark Douglas, Steve Casebolt, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Jimmy Owens, Dustin Linville, Gabe Wilson.