Looney Does It Again In East Moline

Payton Looney (FastTrack photo)

EAST MOLINE, Ill. — For the second time in as many nights, Payton Looney moved to the point and didn’t look back as he collected his third career Lucas Oil MLRA win in the Bullring Bullseye 40 at The Bullring at the Rock Island County Fairgrounds.

Originally slated for 40 laps, the first annual event was bumped to 44 laps in honor of late model racer Shaune Lewis, who passed away on Friday night at Davenport Speedway.

At the drop of the green flag it was Tony Toste driving to the lead from his outside front row starting position over polesitter Bobby Pierce.

Toste would show the way on the top side until a slight bobble in turn four sent Pierce to the point on lap seven. Pierce quickly stretched out the advantage at the point with Looney and Toste in tow.

As Pierce crossed the stripe on lap 24 he began to slow and fell into the grasp of the Capital Chassis of Looney. Looney would drive by for the lead as the yellow flew on the next lap as Pierce slowed in front of the field down the front stretch. A broken rear axle would signal the end of the night after what looked to be a promising night for Pierce.

With the green back in the air, Looney went back on the charge, going the distance to collect the feature win and stretch out his lead atop the Midwest Sheet Metal Point Leader Challenge standings.

Justin Duty charged all the way from 16th on the grid to snag second at the line over Jeremiah Hurst who advanced from the 10th starting spot. Toste came home in fourth for his second top five of the season, while Garrett Alberson rounded out the top five.

“I hate it that the 32 broke because I felt like I had just got my rhythm and I was catching him a little bit every lap,” Looney said. “I wish he could have raced it because this isn’t my forte at all. Anybody that knows me knows that I’m not usually up on the cushion like that. I guess it’s just a testament of how far we have come and how much we have grown.”

The finish:

Feature (44 Laps): 1.Payton Looney 2.Justin Duty 3.Jeremiah Hurst 4.Tony Toste 5.Garrett Alberson 6.Brian Shirley 7.Mike Chasteen Jr. 8.Chad Simpson 9.Tony Jackson Jr. 10.Mike McKinney 11.Daniel Hilsabeck 12.Brennon Willard 13.Bobby Pierce 14.Jason Papich 15.Allen Wiesser 16.Travis Denning 17.Tegan Evans 18.Jonathan Brauns 19.Jeremy Conaway 20.Gary Webb 21.Mike Guldenpfenning