Last-Lap Pass Lifts Beauchamp In Pro Stock 50


OSWEGO, N.Y. – C.D. Beauchamp made a Dale Earnhardt quality bump-and-run move on leader Chuck Dumblewski coming off turn four on the last lap to steal the $2,000 win in the Pro Stock 50 Sunday afternoon during Super DIRT Week at Oswego Speedway.

Beauchamp had seized command from polesitter Dumblewski on lap seven, but Dumblewski had waited patiently, running easily behind the leader until lap 43 when he took the lead back with an impressive high side move in turn two.

From that point on he seemed destined to win, but Beauchamp brought the chilled crowd to their feet on the last lap, tapping Dumblewski’s rear bumper down the backstretch, then giving him a bigger boost coming off turn four, though not enough to spin him.

“Chuckie surprised me with seven to go when he got by me. I gave it my all on that last lap and got it back,” said Beauchamp. “We changed our setup entirely today and the car was good enough to let me do that.”

Dumblewski, who has a history of runner-up finishes in the Pro Stock 50, added “That hurt. I thought I had it. I’d rather run fifth than lose like that.”

Justin Knight was third ahead of Kim Duell and Rob Yetman, who had won the last five Pro Stock races during Super DIRT Week. Yetman had just seized third when he got turned around on a lap 14 restart and had to go to the rear.  He made an amazing run back through the field, but ran out of laps before getting close enough to challenge for another win.

Jocelyn Roy led the second five, which included Kenny Martin (up from 23rd), Jay Casey, Marc Lalonde, Jason Casey and Jay Corbin.

The finish:

C.D. Beauchamp, Chuck Dumblewski, Justin Knight, Kim Duell, Rob Yetman, Jocelyn Roy, Kenny Martin, Jay Casey, Marc Lalonde, Jason Casey, Jay Corbin, Ken Gates, Jonathan Routhier, Dan Older, Dean Charbonneau, Bruno Cyr, Stephane Lariviere, Sid Harner Jr., Rich Crane, Roch Aubin, Travis Welsh, Pete Stefanski, Jason Meltz, Stephane Lebrun, Pascal Payeur, Jocelyn Chicoine, Josh Coonradt, Steve LaRochelle, Chuck Towslee, Luke Horning.