Lanigan Dominates Possum Town Grand Prix

Darrell Lanigan pocketed $10,000 for winning the Possum Town Grand Prix on Saturday.

COLUMBUS, Miss. – Darrell Lanigan swept the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series Possum Town Grand Prix on Saturday at Magnolia Motor Speedway.

Lanigan set fast time, earned the pole with the first heat race win and then led all 100 laps of the feature to pick up the top prize of $10,000.

The only hiccup Lanigan had all weekend was a slip coming off the second turn on lap 99, and three-time NeSmith Late Model National Champion and National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame Inductee Ronnie Johnson was right there to move up on the leader’s back bumper.

While Johnson made an inside run on the leader to challenge for the front spot, Lanigan made a quick recovery and Johnson, who was looking for his third Possum Town Grand Prix win, had to settle for second in the Josh Roberts Trucking Special.

“This is pretty cool,” Lanigan said. “I came down here last year with Grant Garrison, and this year, we built him a new car for next year, so I said I’d come down and try it out. We sold this car yesterday, so we’ll go back to the shop and build him another one. This place is awesome. This is the reason we came back down here to race. The Golden Helmet NeSmith trophy is pretty different, so that will have a place in my trophy case back in Union.”

Evan Ellis made a late-race charge to take the third spot in the Ellis Welding Special. Fourth went to Jamey Boland while Walker Arthur completed the top-five.

The finish:

Darrell Lanigan, Ronnie Johnson, Evan Ellis, Jamey Boland, Walker Arthur, Colton Horner, Matt Henderson, Grant Pearl, Spencer Hughes, Cale Finley, Steve Russell, Marcus Minga, Andy Picklesimer, T.J. Brittain, Grant Garrison, Chad Thrash, Kelly Schryock, Rodney Martin, Neil Baggett, Scott Dedwylder, Jeremy Shaw, Chip Brindle, Cory Hedgecock, Jake Knowles.