Lanigan Stops Owens At Florence


UNION, Ky. — Darrell Lanigan and Jimmy Owens shared center stage in what was a hard-fought short-track Saturday night battle of Club 29 race cars at Florence Speedway.

Lanigan came out on top after a last lap attempt by Owens and capture his first-career Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals by Schaeffer’s Oil victory which was worth $5,000 to the hometown driver taking the payday in front of a great crowd during the 38th annual Spring 50.

Lanigan drove his Lanigan Autosports, Keyser Manufacturing and Hoosier Racing Tire sponsored Cornett Racing Engines powered Club 29 Race Car to the win. He also became the 15th different Spring Nationals Series winner.

Owens settled for second after a late race surge while driving the Reece Monument and Gantte Appraisals sponsored Club 29 Race Car. Behind Lanigan and Owens in the finish was Gregg Satterlee who completed his third-straight top-five finish in just his third series start while driving the Keyser Manufacturing Rocket Chassis.

Dustin Linville and Jeff Babcock filled the top five.

The finish:

Darrell Lanigan, Jimmy Owens, Gregg Satterlee, Dustin Linville, Jeff Babcock, Eddie Carrier Jr., Duane Chamberlain, Brad Neat, Donald McIntosh, Billy Ogle Jr., Eric Wells, Rod Conley, Robby Hensley, Stephen Breeding, Kenny Collins, Nick Latham, David Payne, John Gill, Michael Chilton, Skylar Marlar, Jesse James Lay, Stacy Boles, Steve Casebolt, Greg Johnson.