Kent Robinson Claims Summer Nationals Finale

Kent Robinson (7r) and Brandon Thirlby battle for the lead Saturday at Oakshade Raceway. (Jim DenHamer photo)

WAUSEON, Ohio — Kent Robinson banked $10,000 for winning Saturday night’s Birthday Race at Oakshade Raceway.

The race was the final chapter of this year’s UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals and Robinson took the lead from Brandon Thirlby on lap 28 and led the remainder of the 60-lap feature on the three-eighths-mile dirt track.

Devin Shiels came on strong at the end to finish second, with Thirlby, Jon Henry and Brian Ruhlman rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Kent Robinson, Devin Shiels, Brandon Thirlby, Jon Henry, Brian Ruhlman, Curtis Roberts, Wayne Chinn, Billy Moyer Jr., Travis Stemler, Bobby Pierce, Ryan Unzicker, Bob Gardner, Casey Noonan, Cody Mahoney, Jeff Babcock, Gordy Gundaker, Jason Feger, Joe Smith, Brad Wade, Matt Shipley, Steve Kester, Brent Larson, Rusty Schlenk, James Rice.