Kay Ends Harris’ Deery Winning Streak

Justin Kay earned his first Deery Summer Series late model victory Tuesday night at Independence Motor Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)
Justin Kay earned his first Deery Summer Series late model victory Tuesday night at Independence Motor Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa — One streak ended and another began Tuesday night at Independence Motor Speedway.

Justin Kay topped the Deery Brothers Summer Series feature for IMCA Late Models, ending the record-tying string of four straight tour victories by Brian Harris.

Kay impressed in earning his career-first series win, catching Harris on the 30th circuit and pulling away to win by most of a straightaway in a fast-paced 50-lapper that ran green to checkered.

The win paid $3,000.

“It was awesome. The last two weeks, this car has just been great,” said Kay, coming off back-to-back weekly wins at Davenport. “With the seconds and thirds we’ve been getting, I thought the Deery win would come eventually. To be able to race with these guys and beat them is tough, that’s for sure.”

Harris had started on the pole and ended as the runner-up despite a power steering pump that quit on him early. Jeff Aikey, Tyler Bruening and Joel Callahan com¬pleted the top five in a mid-week show that played out before a nearly full grandstand.

After grappling with fellow front row starter Rick Dralle at the onset, Harris had Aikey on his back bumper when they caught up with the back on the field on lap 15. Aikey, winner of the two previous Deery features at Indee, was just in front at the flagstand when the 21st lap was scored.

Harris was back in front the next time around, with Aikey, Bruening and Kay all right behind.

Kay went to the bottom to pass Aikey for second on lap 27. He shot past Harris in the first set of turns and was starting to pull away when lap 30 was scored.

The race stayed green and no one could keep pace with Kay, who’d finished second twice during Harris’ streak, at Farley on May 21 and again on June 11 at Tipton.

Leah Wroten was the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock winner Tuesday night. The victory was the ca¬reer first for Wroten, also the first female driver to win a feature at Independence since 1971.

Alex Zwanziger was the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod winner.

The finish:

Justin Kay, Brian Harris, Jeff Aikey, Tyler Bruening, Joel Callahan, Rick Dralle, Jason Utter, Curt Martin, Tom Goble, Denny Eckrich, Jeremiah Hurst, Andy Eckrich, Joe Zrostlik, Darrel DeFrance, Ray Guss Jr., Chad Holladay, Nick Marolf, Darren Ackerman, Luke Merfeld, Rob Moss, Nate Beuseling, Spencer Diercks, Dan Shelliam, Colby Springsteen.