Johnson & Garnes Wear AMRA Crowns


MT. ALTO, W. Va. — In one of the closest point battles of the 19-year existence of the American Motor Racing Ass’n, Kenny Johnson edged Jeremy Berwanger by nine points to claim the 2012 AMRA Malta Windows and Doors National Points Championship.

Johnson also doubled as the Road Warrior Challenge champion becoming only the second driver in organization history to win both the touring RWT championship and national championship.

In the powerful Tru-Tech AMRA Late Model championship, Chris Garnes won the crown for the third year in a row over veteran Andy Bond.

The award’s banquet for AMRA will be Nov. 24 at 6 p.m. at Cedar Lakes Convention Center near Ripley, W. Va.

Johnson’s championship is his third championship in a row, coming against 160 AMRA drivers holding a license in 2012, plus another 50-plus drivers that held a temporary license. Johnson was again the best of the best. Less than 50 points separated the top three drivers — Johnson, Berwanger and Roy Roush. Johnson claimed 21 feature wins.

Berwanger owned Skyline Speedway and had a great first half of the year, winning a reported 12 features overall.

Some of the biggest names in racing participated in the AMRA Late Model division, but on a regular weekend basis Chris Garnes was the dominator. Garnes set the stage for his historic three-year championship run with a World of Outlaw win at I-77 Raceway Park in May. He went on to win 20 features.



Previous articleARCA To Sanction Midwest Tour
Next articleWORM To Build Tribute Car For Larson is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.