Jackson Tames Wheatland Dirt


WHEATLAND, Mo. – Tony Jackson Jr. was in the right place at the right time during Saturday’s Lucas Oil MLRA G2 Gemini Summer Shootout at Lucas Oil Speedway.

Will Vaught asserted himself early and took control of the 40-lap event. For the majority of the night it looked like Vaught would be the man in victory lane. However, late in the race with lapped traffic all around, Jackson and Vaught ran together in turn one. The damage cut down Vaught’s tire, and he was forced to pit for a new left rear.

The incident gave Jackson the lead after he and Bodenhamer got together in turn one a couple of laps later, resulting in a caution. Jackson never looked back in winning his first super late model feature at Lucas Oil Speedway.

“Will (Vaught) was good,” said Jackson. “I got a lot of respect for Will. I was catching him in lapped traffic. He didn’t look like he was as maneuverable as I was. I was running the bottom. He just kind of made a last minute decision to get down there. I tired to stay off of him. In the next turn he got beside me and I give him a lot of room, cause I felt like, I didn’t want him to feel like that’s how I won the race.”

Jack Sullivan was in the thick of the race from about the midpoint on. He started 18th and fell back before mounting a serious charge forward. He kept his Rocket Chassis out of danger and avoided any run ins to finish second.

Jesse Stovall had an eventful race, as he and Justin Asplin had a couple of chance meetings under green and then another under caution. Stovall suffered a good amount of damage, but held on to nail down the third position.

In the points chase, both Chad Simpson and Terry Phillips had tough evenings. They, like Sullivan, were able to just run their respective races and both ended with good results to show for their efforts. Simpson ran fifth with Phillips one spot back of him.

The finish:

Tony Jackson Jr., Jack Sullivan, Jesse Stovall, Mark Burgtorf, Chad Simpson, Terry Phillips, John Anderson, Jason Bodenhamer, Brandon Morton, Brandon McCormick, Dave Eckrich, Travis Dickes, Anthony Burroughs, Bill Koons, Scott Lewis, Jeremy Payne, Will Vaught, Austin Siebert,  Jason Hughes, Ryan Gustin, Tommy Weder Jr., Brantlee Gotschall, Josh Hughes, Ethan Young, Justin Asplin.

Previous articleFive In A Row For Donny Schatz
Next articleAction Heats Up At Central Missouri
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.