Jackson Claims Roper Memorial


MONETT, Mo. — Tony Jackson Jr. won the 13th annual Tony Roper Memorial presented by Andy’s Frozen Custard at Monett Speedway.

Jackson took the lead from defending MARS late model champion Jesse Stovall on lap 19 of the 40-lap feature and held off repeated challenges from six-time MARS champion Terry Phillips to notch his first win of the 2013 season.

Stovall took the early lead from his pole starting position and looked to have the car to beat. Business started picking up as Stovall entered lap traffic and Jackson close behind. Jackson would take the lead on lap 19 and never looked back.

Phillips, Billy Moyer Jr., Mark Dotson and Jeff Floyd rounded out the top five.