Holiday Leads All 40 At CJ Speedway

Chad Holladay in victory lane at Iowa's CJ Speedway. (IMCA photo)

COLUMBUS JUNCTION, Iowa — A very full house was on hand to welcome the Deery Brothers Summer Series back to CJ Speedway Wednesday night.

Chad Holladay led all 40 laps of the main event for touring IMCA Late Models, outrunning Denny Eckrich and Darrel DeFrance for his career second Deery win and $2,000.

Ryan Dolan and Nick Marolf rounded out the top five in the first series event held at Columbus Junction since 1996.

“There were a couple cautions that worked in my favor and took out lapped traffic at halfway and again with five to go,” said Holladay. “You always want clean air ahead of you and we had a very good car tonight.”

Holladay’s night began inauspiciously, as he drew the last starting spot in his heat.

He won that race, however, and started outside DeFrance on the front row in the main event. Holladay used lower lines all the way around the oval and didn’t have any problems in traffic.

“(Promoter) Larry Richardson is like a driver. Every week he wants to do better,” said Holladay, a modified winner at CJ just two weeks ago. “The track took a little rubber but it was smooth and nice.”

The finish:

Chad Holladay, Denny Eckrich, Darrel DeFrance, Ryan Dolan, Nick Marolf, Jeremiah Hurst, Curt Martin, Chuck Hanna, Todd Cooney, Justin Kay, Jay Johnson, Richie Gustin, Joe Zrostlik, Curt Schroeder, Chad Coyne, Dave Wada, Andy Nezworski, Rob Toland, Kyle Hinrichs, Gary Webb, Tim Simpson, Andy Eckrich, Sam Halstead, Jeff Guengerich, Terry Neal.