Herrington Leads Them All At Mountain View

Wil Herrington in victory lane Saturday at Mountain View Raceway. (Greg Farmer Photo)
Wil Herrington in victory lane Saturday at Mountain View Raceway. (Greg Farmer Photo)

SPRING CITY, Tenn. – Wil Herrington swept the program by winning the Spring City 50 for the Newsome Raceway Parts Crate Racin’ USA Dirt Late Model Series on Saturday night at Mountain View Raceway.

Herrington led all 50 laps in the Poole’s Service Center Rocket despite losing his power steering on lap 10 on the quarter-mile high banked clay oval.

In addition to leading every lap in the main event, Herrington earned the pole for the main event on a track he had never seen before by setting a new track record in qualifying at 11.011 seconds to shatter the old track record of 11.195 seconds set by Randy Weaver. In all, five drivers were under the old track record in qualifying.

“The car was perfect tonight, as we set a new track record in qualifying, then we took the lead at the start of the race, and then the power steering went out on lap ten while we were in lapped traffic,” Herrington said. “Now I’m not a big guy, but I somehow got a rhythm going, but boy I was tired at the end of the race.”

Herrington my have had a rhythm, but the rest of the field didn’t like the tune, as Herrington took the checkered flag with a 1.078 second margin of victory over Ahnna Parkhurst, who claimed her best Crate Racin’ USA finish with a second-place effort in the EZ Go Special.

Parkhurst made a late-race charge up into the second spot, as she was the only driver to dust off the top shelf outside groove of Mountain View Raceway.

Cruz Skinner battled side-by-side with Parkhurst late in the race but had to settle for third. Bryson Mitchell took the fourth spot and Jimmy Elliott was fifth.

The finish:

Wil Herrington, Ahnna Parkhurst, Cruz Skinner, Bryson Mitchell, Jimmy Elliott, Corey Dunn, Braden Mitchell, T.J. Brittain, Rodney Martin, Barry Goodman, Cody Gentry, Ashley Newman, Marcus Minga, Troy Dixon, Heath Alvey, Ty Ellis, Cody Overton, Ryan Boudreaux, Jason Markewitz, Jody Knowles, Ethan Hunter.