Franklin Shows His Best Rebel Yell


SYLVANIA, Ga. — Dennis Franklin rallied from his seventh starting spot in the 53-lap Main to go on to capture the $5,300 prize in the 15th annual Rebel Yell at Screven Motor Speedway for his seventh career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series victory.

The driver known as “Rambo” became the fifth different winner in five Southern Nationals Series events and the Longhorn Chassis he drives also made some history during week one of the tour. Longhorn Chassis’ have now won four out of five series events this week with Bloomquist Race Cars capturing the other victory.

Brent Dixon and Casey Roberts would bring the field of 23 to the green flag for the start of the main event with Dixon grabbing the early lead and remaining in control for the first six circuits. Roberts would grab the lead from Dixon on lap seven and hold the position until Franklin would make the move on the back stretch coming to the 39th circuit and never look back going on to the victory over Roberts, Casey Barrow, Eric Jacobsen and Donald McIntosh.

Three yellow flags slowed the main event. On lap four, Johnny Pursley came to rest at the top of turn two. The second yellow flag would come out on lap 16 as Brent Dixon, who was running second to Roberts stopped his Rocket Chassis at the top of turn two and went to the pits but never returned to the track. The final yellow flag would come out on the 22nd lap as Stacy Boles made contact with a lapped car in turn one sending him around and ending his night.

The finish:

Dennis Franklin, Casey Roberts, Casey Barrow, Eric Jacobsen, Donald McIntosh, Billy Ogle Jr., Craig Vosbergen, Chris Madden, Vic Hill, Joey Coulter, Austin Smith, Ben Watkins, Chris Ferguson, Brant Carey, Jim Manka, Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Kenny Collins, Scott Shirey, Stacy Boles, Brent Dixon, Tony Knowles, Johnny Pursley, Aaron Ridley.

Previous articleF-1: Hungarian Grand Prix
Next articlePHOTOS: Silver Crown At Lucas Oil Raceway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.