Francis Leads Dirt LM Hall Of Fame Inductees


Following its annual selection process, the 2014 Class of the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame has been announced. The upcoming class features five driving greats: Denny Bonebrake, Steve Francis, Bob Kosiski, Kenny Walton and the late Ed Gibbons.

Denny Bonebrake recently retired from competition following an illustrious career which spanned 45 years. A Maryland native, Bonebrake is one of Hagerstown, Maryland Speedway’s all-time winningest racers. Steve Francis, known as the “Kentucky Colonel,” remains active today and is a former World 100 and Dirt Track World Champion, along with countless major victories on America’s national circuits. Bob Kosiski, the patriarch of the famous dirt racing family from Nebraska, was a top contender on the tough IMCA stock car circuit and a short track winning icon for many years across the upper Midwest.

Kenny Walton, a 1978 World 100 champion, has also a NASCAR Weekly Regional championship and multiple NSCA circuit titles on his long and successful resume. Ed Gibbons, a second generation South Carolina dirt star, drove to over 400 victories and was a top southeastern runner for a number of years until his untimely passing following an automobile accident in 2009.

This classes’ Contributing Category includes Allan Brown, journalist, historian and founder of the National Speedway Directory; Renegade STARS and World of Outlaws late model group technical inspector Walter Burson; and long time prominent Iowa car owners Larry and Penny Eckrich.

The Hall’s Circle Track Magazine sponsored Sportsman’s Award will be presented to veteran Alabama racing great Red Farmer for his years of dedication as an ambassador to the sport.

The 2014 induction class ceremony will be presented at the North-South 100 weekend next August at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky.