Feger Flies To $10,000 NDRL Score


IMPERIAL, Pa. — The National Dirt Racing League sanctioned the opening night of the silver anniversary of the Pittsburgher 100 at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway with a $10,000-to-win event and it was Jason Feger, who wired the field in dominant fashion to claim his first victory with the series.

Feger, who started from the pole position in the 50 lap feature grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag and endured a trio of caution flags to claim the victory by more than two seconds over his foes.

“I wasn’t really happy with the car in practice last night, and earlier tonight it wasn’t much better, but my guys made some changes before the feature that made it just awesome,” Feger said. “It’s been a really tough past few weeks for us, but tonight was awesome. I really think we’ve figured something out.”

Feger’s night started with a lucky break when he was awarded the win in his heat race after initial winner, Alex Ferree, was disqualified due to an illegal deck height in post-race inspection. In the redraw for the feature he received the pole starting spot for the finale with Gregg Satterlee joining him on the front row.

Feger jumped to the top spot as the finale went green at the historic, half-mile oval with Satterlee, Billy Moyer, Josh Richards, and Eddie Carrier Jr. giving chase. Satterlee quickly found himself relegated to fourth as Moyer and Richard motored past.

Despite their best efforts over the next several laps Moyer and Richards were unable to make up ground on Feger as he built leads of more than four seconds at times. While the top three runners remained the same the rest of the top ten shuffled regularly with Jackie Boggs coming to life by lap 20 as he jumped into the top five. Lap 25 would find Boggs’ great run coming to an end as he lost power, forcing him to retire.

Lap 25 found the race undergoing its final restart with Feger again dispensing of the field as he ran and hid at the high-speed oval. Billy Moyer ran in second until lap 45, when Josh Richards drove past. Over the closing laps Moyer slipped to fourth with Dale McDowell claiming third.

Rounding out the top ten behind race winner, Jason Feger, were Josh Richards, Dale McDowell, Billy Moyer, Eddie Carrier Jr., Kent Robinson, Eric Wells, Jared Miley, Keith Barbara and Shane Clanton.

Eddie Carrier Jr. started his night by blazing to fast time honors in Group B and overall in the 51-car field with a 19.109-second lap.

The finish:

Jason Feger, Josh Richards, Dale McDowell, Billy Moyer, Eddie Carrier, Kent Robinson, Eric Wells, Jared Miley, Keith Barbara, Shane Clanton, Scott Bloomquist, Gregg Satterlee, Brian Birkhofer, Austin Hubbard, Mason Zeigler, Dennis Erb Jr., Jimmy Mars, Jackie Boggs, Alex Ferree, Steve Shaver, Davey Johnson, Michael Norris, Boom Briggs, Mike Knight, Chub Frank, Rick Eckert.