Dylan Knowles Lands Ice Bowl Crate Pole

Dylan Knowles Lands
Dylan Knowles is the polesitter for the 30th annual Ice Bowl at Talladega Short Track. (CRUSA photo)

EASTABOGA, Ala. – Dylan Knowles earned the pole position for Sunday’s 30th annual Ice Bowl at Talladega Short Track for the Newsome Raceway Parts Crate Racin’ USA Dirt Late Model Series.

The $3,000-to-win Ice Bowl is the opening race for the CRUSA-sanctioned sixth annual Winter Shootout Series.

Knowles drove the K-Line Logistics Rocket to fast time honors among the 49 entrants in Boyd Built Fabricators Group Qualifying with a lap around the third-mile Talladega Short Track clay oval in 14.774 seconds, then won the first 10-lap KRC Power Steering heat race on Saturday night to earn the inside front row starting spot for Sunday’s big show.

Jason Welshan took a heat race win and starts the Competition Race Equipment Special on the outside of the front row. Eli Beets took a heat race win and starts the Beets Racing Special on the inside of row two.

Jake Knowles, the 2019 Newsome Raceway Parts Crate Racin’ USA Dirt Late Model Series national champion, won his heat race to earn the outside second row starting spot in the Knowles Race Parts and Bodies Special.

The top four finishes in each heat race made up the first 16 starters for the Ice Bowl main event.

Cody Overton, Tanner Collins, and Cruz Skinner followed Dylan Knowles into the Ice Bowl out of the first heat race.

Blant Duke, Chase Walls, and Sterling Freeman finished second through fourth, respectively, in the second heat race to earn starting spots in the Ice Bowl feature.

The second through fourth-place drivers respectively in the third heat race to transfer into the Ice Bowl main event were Jake Traylor, defending Ice Bowl champion and two-time Winter Shootout champion Jimmy Elliott, and Donald Johns.

Jadon Frame, Buddy George, and Ahnna Parkhurst followed Welshan out of the fourth heat race into the main event.

The top four finishers from a pair of 12-lap KRC Power Steering B Mains on Sunday will fill in the 17th through 24th starting spots for the 30th annual Ice Bowl main event.