Drew Armstrong Breaks Through In I-30 CCSDS Run

Drew Armstrong Breaks Through
Drew Armstrong. (Heath Lawson photo)

CONWAY, Ark. – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series opened the inaugural Four-For-Four Firecracker Nationals on Wednesday night at Tracey Clay’s I-30 Speedway, where hometown standout Drew Armstrong raced to his first-career series win.

The Alexander, Ark., racer surged into the top five in the closing laps and then inherited the point when race-long leader Timothy Culp broke with just three laps remaining.

“This is an incredible feeling. When I saw [Timothy] Culp break and realized I was the leader, I just thought to myself ‘holy crap you are the leader, don’t blow this opportunity’,” Armstrong shared in victory lane. “I won a lot of modified and stock car races here [I-30 Speedway], but this is by far the biggest.

“I want to thank everyone who helps on this car, and everyone who roots for me in the stands. This is just unbelievable.”

Former series champions Culp and Jon Mitchell brought the field to the green flag for the 40-lap feature. Culp looked to be in charge of the caution-plagued feature, building as much as a five-second lead at points in the finale.

Mitchell fell by the wayside with mechanical issues, while running second during the race’s middle stages.

Culp held a one-second lead over a hard-charging Armstrong when bad luck bit the Louisiana native exiting turn two on lap 38. He slowed with mechanical issues to draw the caution. Armstrong inherited the lead and then led the final three laps to score the victory.

Armstrong became the eighth different winner in 10 events in CCSDS competition in 2020.

Neil Baggett, Logan Martin, Rick Rickman and Brian Rickman completed the top five.

Armstrong has the inside line on the Mark Martin Automotive Challenge, which posts a $10,000 bonus for winning all four of the weekend’s events, while a $5,000 bonus is still on the table for any competitor who can win the final three races of the holiday weekend.

The four-race swing of $4,000-to-win and $400-to-start CCSDS events continues on Thursday, July 2, as the action shifts south to Ark-La-Tex Speedway in Vivian, La., for the annual Pelican.

Joining the CCSDS contingent on the card will be Limited Modifieds, Pro Mods, Factory Stocks and Front Wheel Drives.

The finish:

1. Drew Armstrong, 2. Neil Baggett, 3. Logan Martin, 4. Rick Rickman, 5. Brian Rickman, 6. B.J. Robinson, 7. Morgan Bagley, 8. Spencer Hughes, 9. Timothy Culp, 10. Scott Crigler, 11. Kyle Beard, 12. Terry Phillips, 13. Jon Mitchell, 14. Chandler Petty, 15. Tommy Surrett, 16. Jesse Stovall, 17. Chad Mallett, 18. David Payne, 19. Joe Godsey, 20. Hunter Rasdon.