Dirt Late Model HoF Inductions On Aug. 9


UNION, Ky. –  The National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame will induct the class of 2014 on Aug. 9 at 4:30 p.m. EST on the main straightaway of Florence Speedway prior to the running of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series North-South 100.

This year’s class of driver’s include Maryland’s Denny Bonebrake, Kentucky’s Steve Francis, South Carolina’s Ed Gibbons, Nebraska’s Bob Kosiski and Iowa’s Ken Walton. Contributors to be honored are Allan Brown, publisher of the National Speedway Directory; race series technical inspector Walter Burson; and car owners Larry and Penny Eckrich. The Hall’s annual Sportsman Award will be presented to long-time Alabama racer Red Farmer.

An auction to benefit the Hall will be held at 1 p.m. on Aug. 9 in front of the Hall of Fame facility located outside of turn four at the speedway. A number of today’s top racers have generously donated door panels and other memorabilia to be auctioned off. All proceeds collected go to the Hall of Fame.

Other Hall of Fame weekend activities include a “Late Model 101” history seminar to be held in the Hall of Fame building on Aug. 8 at 4 p.m. A history of a number of the race vehicles on display at the Hall will be discussed. Guests for the seminar include HoF inductees Larry Moore, Chuck McWilliams and John Mason, along with Tommy Boggs, the son of the late Jack Boggs. Admittance to the Hall and the seminar is free of charge.