Dillard Dominates CCSDS Field In Texas

Dillard Dominates
Cade Dillard won the opening night of the Southern Dirt Track Championship on Friday.

FORT WORTH, Texas – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil sanctioned the opening round of the inaugural Southern Dirt Track Championship on Friday night at The Dirt Track at Texas Motor Speedway.

Forty-one entries took part in the event, and Cade Dillard staged a late-race charge to the lead and ultimately the $3,500 victory.

Payton Looney led much of the race from the outside front-row starting spot before fifth-starting Dillard took over the lead.

Dillard went on to pick up his first series win of 2019, as well as his second-career triumph. Looney, Colton Horner, John Whittington and Timothy Culp completed the top-five finishers.

Steve Whiteaker Jr. was scheduled to start on the New Vision Graphics Pole Position after winning his heat race, but mechanical issues forced him to scratch from the program.

The finish:

1. Cade Dillard, 2. Payton Looney, 3. Colton Horner, 4. John Whittington, 5. Timothy Culp, 6. Jesse Stovall, 7. Hunter Rasdon, 8. Brian Rickman, 9. Patrik Daniel, 10. B.J. Robinson, 11. Tony Jackson Jr., 12. Morgan Bagley, 13. Terry Phillips, 14. Scott Crigler, 15. Kaeden Cornell, 16. Raymond Merrill, 17. Zach McMillan, 18. Chad Mallett, 19. Kyle Beard, 20. Jon Mitchell, 21. Robert Baker, 22. Cody Leonard.